November 21, 2005

sad PS3 online resources

Posted in nostalgic words at 12:01 pm by playstation3

I feel sad.

This morning, I made a little tour between many Hi-Tech informative resources all around the web.

I’m not going to mention them, but there are big names involved in it.

Almost 75-80% of PS3 articles, published over time, are IDENTICAL.
Ok, let’s make the point of the situation: EVERYONE, included me, must take PS3 news from bigger websites (IGN, Gamespot, Joistiq etc.) having direct contacts with major gaming companies. There is no alternative solution. I do it as well, I check bigger online magazines, I take out the news and I rewrite them, with personal impressions and references. I try to select accurately the best (and only the best & breaking) news, to create communication with my 800+ daily readers, to make my bLog less formal and “purely informative”, to discuss (as it’s happening in the xbox vs ps3 price contest) . To be, at least, friendly.
But I counted over 15-20 ps3 websites / blogs COPYING and PASTING those “breaking” news, in some case without even reporting the source. They just play on different search engine keywords, so people will read their website instead of another, to read identical things.
Now, this is not a new phenomenon, it always happened with newspapers (actually sucking news from wikinews – blah), tv news, etc… but to create a blog talking about playstation 3 and only pasting things written by others on it is insane. Why are you creating a website if there is another with the same contents? You are tricky.
The sad thing is that with a small amount of keywords play, and 15-30 minutes / day of copy/paste work, you can obtain loads of visitors (=$$$).

But, in my opinion (hey.. it’s just me), this is just stealing.

Ok, take news from your sources, but try to write something of your own (something more than “it looks interesting”).

Or burn away your stupid blog and build a Playstation 3 forum / community, if you can launch it.

Let’s work together for the sake of internet information, not only on its divulgation.

And You, my lonely user, stop relying so much on search engines and make a better use of your Browser’s “favourites” folder.

4 Comments »

  1. J G said,

    You talk about posting links as a form of stealing but I just saw your article on Blu-Ray and Charlie’s ANgels and that was ripped off of another site too. Sure you paraphrased in your words (slightly and less interesting) but essentially you got that from another site with more info on the subject. So rather than put up your hacked version, why not direct your users to the source or at least a better article.

  2. I was expecting such a comment, but I already answered this: […] There is no alternative solution. I do it as well, I check bigger online magazines, I take out the news and I rewrite them, with personal impressions and references. I try to select accurately the best (and only the best & breaking) news […] But to copy and paste is very different. This is exactly my critic: you SHOULD hack news. I OBVIOUSLY take news from other websites, I am a 23 y.o. student and this is my hobby, I don’t have contacts with any big one at the moment. I take articles, paste them AND rewrite them, cutting what I think it’s useless, adding (even 2 or 3 sentences) what I think it could be nice. But I make them mine. Often I add pictures of my own. To “review” reviews more than to hack search engines, this is the message.

  3. Andrew Back said,

    Well, I must admit that I too succumb to the temptations of copy/paste, but I usually try to paraphrase articles. The whole notion behind this type of blogging is that you’re putting your spin on the articles, and that’s what I try to do. It’s also interesting to note this website: http://www.livingroom.org.au/photolog/ . He simply reads the best reviews, grabs some pics, and posts “so-and-so reviews the (whatever) and writes: “(copy/pasted post here)”. ALL of his posts are like this, and it’s no wonder that he gets close a motherload of traffic… but at least he cites his sources.

  4. great idea.
    I’ll introduce a “press reviews” section, where I discuss articles coming out from other magazines, reporting them as they are and adding my personal opinion on their contents.

    This is the definitive solution. Thank you, J G, for the critic, and thank you Andrew for the advice.

    Both were very useful :)


Leave a Reply

